On the Radio


During our recent visit to Nashville, we sat in on the live broadcast of The Music Row Show on WLAC. Former Temeculite, Scott Southworth, hosts the show with charming sidekick Heino Moeller. We sat in the corner of the studio, quiet as mice, while Scott and Heino interviewed publisher Woody Bomar and writer Brett Jones. Afterward, we had our picture taken with Brett Jones, who wrote “That’s How Country Boys Roll,” “I Wanna Be a Hillbilly,” and “Crazy Town,” which he played live for us on his well-worn acoustic guitar. Both men were real, down-to-earth, and welcoming. We left the studio after two hours on cloud 9 and floated to the car, amazed that we had the privilege to be with such accomplished Nashville musicians. Thanks a million to Scott for the invitation.

I suppose you’d like to know what words of wisdom I took away from the evening. I would, too. I didn’t take notes because I didn’t think it polite. I also didn’t expect to learn so much. I was also so star-struck that I didn’t register much of what I heard, except Woody Bomar’s saying, “I tell aspiring songwriters that it never hurts to ask.” I took him at his word and later asked by email if I could send him some songs. He said yes, I sent them, he rejected them, and that was that.

However, the whole evening’s broadcast is available on the website. Just google The Music Row Show, and you can listen to it in the archives. You might hear me laugh in the background

Leave a Reply

