You’re Missing a Great Sunset


Inspired by something Amy said when we were all yacking away, ignoring the beautiful sunset, this is song #29 for November 29.

YOU’RE MISSING A GREAT SUNSET
by Pam Bowen

Verse 1:
Standing on the windy pier, I looked west.
You faced eastward, shading your cellphone screen,
Drawn away from me by some important text.
I didn’t think then what it could mean, but I said

CHORUS:
YOU’RE MISSING A GREAT SUNSET:
YELLOW-ORANGE AND PURPLE-BLUE.
I’M HERE NOW, BUT WHERE ARE YOU?
YOU’RE MISSING A GREAT SUNSET.

Verse 2:
Alone I stand, facing west on the pier.
Time explained what your distraction meant.
Your mind and heart flew far from here.
Whatever love we may have had just went. So…

CHORUS

Bridge:
Wherever you are I wish you well.
I’m still here, living for now.
The gift of today is enough,
Awake to the beauty all around.

CHORUS

© Pamella M. Bowen

Leave a Reply

