Cleaning for the Boyfriend


On this, my 59th birthday, I am posting a song inspired by meeting our daughter’s new boyfriend. Even though I admit cleaning my house is mostly about MY ego, I made myself more selfless in the song. Hope you like it. Song #28 for November 28. A little blues number for a Monday:)

CLEANING FOR THE BOYFRIEND
by Pam Bowen

Verse 1:
Mama’s getting out the mop for when she’s done the sweeping.
She’s getting out the mop for when she’s done the sweeping.
She’s cleaning for the boyfriend like he’s gonna be a keeper.

Verse 2:
Mama’s picking up the clutter and chasing after dust.
She’s picking up the clutter and chasing after dust.
She’s cleaning for the boyfriend like he’s gonna be a son.

Verse 3:
I say, “Mama, stop fussing, you’re making me nervous.
“Mama, please stop fussing, you’re making me nervous.
“The house looks fine, it don’t have to be perfect.”

Verse 4:
She says, “I love you, baby, and I wanna make you proud.
“You know how much I love you, and I wanna make you proud.
“I’m cleaning for the boyfriend to make him stick around.”

Verse 5:
You know mamas and the things that they do.
Yeah, you know your mama and the things she’ll do.
She’s cleaning for the boyfriend out of love for you.

© Pamella M. Bowen

Leave a Reply

