Backpack Love Note


This is song 17 for November 17—thinking back to high school days:)

BACKPACK LOVE NOTE
by Pam Bowen

Verse 1:
I’ve been carrying this letter
For a week or so now.
Every time I try to give it
I always chicken out.

Verse 2:
It’s been dog-eared by my textbooks,
It has a Snickers smear.
Across the class I catch her look
And turn away in fear.

CHORUS:
IT’S JUST A BACKPACK LOVE NOTE,
WHY SHOULD IT MAKE ME CHOKE?
I’VE BECOME A WALKING JOKE
WITH MY BACKPACK LOVE NOTE.

Verse 3:
I guess I could re-copy it
And make it nice and clean,
But I might also change the words
And not say what I mean.

CHORUS

Bridge:
The worst that she could do is laugh and walk away,
So I’m gonna man up and give her it today.

CHORUS

© Pamella M. Bowen

Leave a Reply

