Chain Link Fence


Please do not read this song lyric. It is really dumb. I am posting to prove that I am keeping up with my goal of one song per day, and this is song #15 for November 15. It is based entirely on a simile that I think is brilliant, but the rest of the song…well…

CHAIN LINK FENCE
by Pam Bowen

Verse 1:
I say, “Honey, let’s go fishin’.” She says, “No.”
I say, “Look, it’s hailing.” She says, “Snow.”
I say, “Let’s stop for ice cream.” She says, “Go.”
I say, “The grass ain’t that tall.” She says, “Mow.”

CHORUS:
TRYIN’ TO CONVINCE HER WHEN SHE WON’T BE CONVINCED
IS LIKE TRYIN’ TO SPRAY GRAFFITI ON A CHAIN LINK FENCE.

Verse 2:
I say, “I won’t eat sushi.” She says, “Yes.”
I say, “Let’s play checkers.” She says, “Chess.”
I say, “I’ll stay in boxers.” She says, “Dress.”
I say, “My den is tidy.” She says, “Mess.”

CHORUS

Bridge:
I might just as well save my breath.
The arguments I use have no effect.

CHORUS

© Pamella M. Bowen

Leave a Reply

