It’s My Time


Here is song #14 for November 14, inspired by all the live music shows we have been to where, as Marc Allen Barnette says, the singer is “playing to tables and chairs.” However, I’ve kept the mood positive.

IT’S MY TIME
by Pam Bowen

Verse 1:
The bar’s sure empty for a Thursday night:
Barflies stay at home when it’s Open Mic.
Every face I see is family or friend,
Plus lots of chairs if someone wanders in.
But they’re all smiling and clapping along.
They know every word to all of my songs.

CHORUS:
THIS AIN’T THE BIG TIME,
BUT IT’S MY TIME,
AND SINCE IT’S MY TIME,
I’LL LET MY LIGHT SHINE.

Verse 2:
A few songs later, in come some others.
They only listen when I do covers,
Adding applause to my family’s cheering,
And that’s enough to pump up my spirits.
My wife says stick to up-tempo numbers,
Skip the ballads and belt out the rockers.

CHORUS

Verse 3:
My voice is rough by the end of the set.
I ain’t got chops for a concert yet.
The next act up carries in his guitar,
And I take my haul from the old tip jar.
I hold up some bills with a big, wide grin:
There’s the ten dollars that my dad put in.

CHORUS

© Pamella M. Bowen

Leave a Reply

