Glad to Slow Down


This is song #13 for November 13, but I actually have 14 and 15 ready, which means I am halfway to my goal of 30 songs in 30 days. This is one of the two I sent to Kevin Thomas for our melody writing lesson tomorrow evening in San Diego. I am working on more specific imagery and syllable count. Hope you enjoy!

GLAD TO SLOW DOWN
by Pam Bowen

Verse 1:
Hurrying at Wal Mart, had to be some place,
I backed out in a rush from my parking space,
But two pretty women in skin-tight jeans
Were moseyin’ slowly, blocking up my lane.
The shiny studs on their four hip pockets
Hypnotized this guy with their rhythmic rockin’.

CHORUS:
SOMETIMES, YOU’RE GLAD TO SLOW DOWN.
LIFE IS FLYING BY AND IT WON’T COME BACK AROUND.
AN ANGEL SHOOTS AN ARROW THAT PINS YOU TO THE GROUND
AND YOU’RE GLAD TO SLOW DOWN.

Verse 2:
All sunburned and sandy, not wanting to leave,
My girl and I lugged our cooler from the beach.
We found a flat tire, but no jack to change it;
Triple-A would take at least an hour to save us.
So we sat watching the sunset from the sand,
Both of us happy to have a change of plans.

CHORUS

Verse 3:
I could hear the mixer; my babe was baking.
I was tapping my keyboard, writing a paper.
When my screen went black, and the room went dark.
Our work had to wait cuz the power went out.
She found me with a candle; down the hall we went.
I’d say that was time well spent…so well spent.

CHORUS

© Pamella M. Bowen

Leave a Reply

