You Can Die of Stubbornness


This is song #8 for November 8, inspired by a billboard I saw along the 15 freeway. Hope you like it.

YOU CAN DIE OF STUBBORNNESS
by Pam Bowen

Verse 1:
I wrote your doctor appointment on the calendar page,
But when I looked the next day, it was erased.
I hung your helmet on the handle bars—you couldn’t miss it.
When you rode out it was on the garage floor where you left it.

CHORUS:
HONEY, PLEASE STOP SAYING NO
AND START SAYING YES,
CUZ BABE YOU HAVE TO KNOW
YOU CAN DIE OF STUBBORNNESS.

Verse 2:
I got you some stop-smoking patches at the store,
But you returned them for a case of Marlboros.
I cooked you a plate of veggies and a small, lean steak,
But afterwards you went out for french fries and a shake.

CHORUS

Bridge:
You’re my man, you are my lover,
You need to believe me.
My life depends upon you,
And I don’t want you to leave me.

CHORUS

© Pamella M. Bowen

Leave a Reply

