No Alcohol Beyond This Point


Here is song#4 for November 4, commissioned by Sal Hamby at the Merc when he pointed to the sign on the building. Remember these are lyric drafts:) Is that like “draft beer”?

NO ALCOHOL BEYOND THIS POINT
by Pam Bowen

Verse 1:
I’d been sitting at the bar for an hour or three
When my good old drinkin’ buddy said to me,
“Want another Jack or some Johnny Walker Red?”
I turned my glass right over and I said,

CHORUS:
NO ALCOHOL BEYOND THIS POINT:
I CAN FEEL MY HEAD SPINNING ROUND.
ANOTHER ONE MIGHT PUT ME IN THE GROUND.
NO ALCOHOL BEYOND THIS POINT.

Verse 2:
When the taxi dropped me off, wifey met me at the door
And grabbed the bag I brought home from the liquor store.
I could hear the whiskey glugging as she poured it down the drain,
And all the time her nagging voice was sayin’

NO ALCOHOL BEYOND THIS POINT:
I CAN SEE YOUR HEAD SPINNING ROUND
ANOTHER ONE MIGHT PUT YOU IN THE GROUND.
NO ALCOHOL BEYOND THIS POINT.

Verse 3:
That night I dreamt I met St. Peter at the Gates.
I feared that he would probly slam them in my face.
But no, he let me in and pointed to a sign.
He said, “Son, this is where we draw the line:”

NO ALCOHOL BEYOND THIS POINT
NO BEER, TEQUILA, WHISKEY OR THOSE OTHER THINGS.
THE SPIRIT WE SERVE HERE WILL GIVE YOU WINGS.
NO ALCOHOL BEYOND THIS POINT.

© Pamella M. Bowen

3 thoughts on “No Alcohol Beyond This Point

  1. gitpa November 5, 2011 / 8:30 am

    Oh I just love this one!!!! Absolutely creative… This get the very first Double Yup.

    Yup, Yup!!!!

    • pambowen November 5, 2011 / 9:50 am

      Wow, a double-yup! I am on cloud nine. Thanks, Sal! Love, Pam

  2. gitpa November 5, 2011 / 10:50 am

    I hear this as a rockin twelve bar blues… just rocking super loud…

Leave a Reply

