PaSoWriMo Begins Tomorrow


Tomorrow is November 1, and thousands of crazy novelists across the country will start feverishly composing their 50,000-word novels for NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month), finishing them by midnight on November 30. Two years ago I accomplished this feat with my semi-autobiographical novel, Avocado Highway. This year, I am instituting a new challenge called PaSoWriMo (Pam’s Song Writing Month), and I intend to write one song lyric a day for 30 days. This is easier than a 50K-word novel, and it is harder. Though my lyrics will be in draft form only, still a lyricist labors more over structure than a novelist does, even in draft mode. My friend, Sal Hamby, is the monitor of my progress, and I will be reporting to him and you daily. I will not have time to blog during PaSoWriMo, so all you will see here is a rough lyric I wrote that day. I have a list of at least 30 song ideas, so if the Heavenly Muse or even the secular one stays with me, I hope to “Win” my own challenge this year. Stay tuned for daily developments:)

Leave a Reply

