Young Adult Pop?


I wrote this based on true information I got from a real life young adult, intending it for the Brewer Boys. Being as old as I am, it’s a challenge for me to write for the under-25 crowd. I am open to revisions and suggestions on genre. Enjoy!

ELECTRONIC LIES

by Pam Bowen

Bet you’re sleeping with your cell phone,
Still waiting for his text.
Well, right now he’s texting Katie,
But after her you’re next.
Can’t you tell that he’s a player
Who treats you like an option?
With me you’re top priority
Cuz you’re so freakin’ awesome.

WAKE UP, GIRL, AND LOOK AT ME.
LET ME HOLD YOU IN MY EYES.
TRUST THE LOVE I’M SENDING YOU
NOT HIS ELECTRONIC LIES.

For each girl on his contact list
He has a secret code:
A smile’s a work in progress,
A wink’s a girl he’s scored.
You don’t deserve that treatment, babe,
On my list there’s only you.
Block his number, come on over,
And we’ll start on something true.

CHORUS

(Bridge, maybe)

CHORUS

© Pamella M. Bowen

Leave a Reply

