Nothing Good Can Happen After 1AM


Okay, country song fans, since it is Friday and many of us are going out to celebrate tonight, I thought I’d post this lonely lyric for your enjoyment. Party on, Garth!

NOTHING GOOD CAN HAPPEN
by Pam Bowen

Verse 1:
Daddy was a drinker.
In fact, that’s why he’s dead.
So as I headed out the door,
My mama always said:

YOU GET YOURSELF HOME EARLY YOUNG MAN.
NOTHING GOOD CAN HAPPEN AFTER ONE A.M.

Verse 2:
Next week’s paycheck’s already spent.
I’ve made proposals I never meant.
I can’t tell the truth from the lies I’ve said.
I woke up alone in a strange girl’s bed.

I SPEND THE WEE HOURS… PROVIN’ THE SAYIN’
NOTHING GOOD CAN HAPPEN AFTER ONE A.M.

Verse 3:
My truck keys and my mind got lost.
I can’t count the lines I’ve crossed.
Some punches I’ve thrown and some I’ve caught
And slept it off in the parking lot.

CHORUS

Bridge:
Cinderella came home early
Fore she turned into a pumpkin.
She coulda taught a lesson
To this here drunken bumpkin.

CHORUS

© 2011 Pamella M. Bowen

Leave a Reply

