Scattering


Scattering

Look at the natural world and you will see plants and animals reproducing by scattering. Trees scatter seeds by the thousands on the wind. Flowers do the same. Fish lay myriad eggs and fertilize them. Even humans send way more sperm cells than necessary to enter that one egg cell that comes ready each month. Scattering seems to be a good strategy, even though not all the seeds will take root. Some of the seeds will grow, and that’s all we need.
Jesus even has a parable about scattering: some grain sprouts, some doesn’t, some withers, some grows and multiplies. There goes God again, doing everything in abundance: manna, plagues, fishes and loaves, water into wine. Prodigality is the way.
So, how does this apply to songwriting? I am the sower, and I am going to cast my lyrics to the wind. After all, lyrics alone cannot grow into a song without being planted in a melody and blossoming into a full composition. I am not afraid of losing seeds to thieves, to barren ground, or to neglect. I have more ready, and an endless creativity to invent new ones. If enough seeds are scattered, eventually one will fall on fertile ground and a song will spring up. God’s pattern of the universe teaches me this. I pray that the following lyric finds purchase in your soil.

BRANDED LOVE
by Pam Bowen

Verse 1:
I caught a sudden glimpse…of my long-ago lover
And ducked into a doorway…so my heart could recover.
After all the years he looked the same…
And I still felt the shame.

CHORUS:
A FIRST LOVE ALWAYS LEAVES ITS MARK
NO MATTER HOW IT ENDS.
MINE BURNED INTO MY VIRGIN HEART
LIKE A SEARING IRON BRAND.

Verse 2:
I trembled like a schoolgirl…caught red-handed by the teacher.
I reddened like a sinner…going up before the preacher.
I realized the past can’t be erased…
When I saw my first love’s face.

CHORUS

Bridge:
Flooding memories set my guilty heart to beating.
I couldn’t bear to face the man I lost by cheating.

CHORUS (VARIATION)
A FIRST LOVE ALWAYS LEAVES ITS MARK
NO MATTER WHO’S TO BLAME.
MY CHEATER’S HEART CANNOT FORGET
IT CAUSED ANOTHER’S PAIN.

2 thoughts on “Scattering

  1. James Cain October 20, 2011 / 2:13 pm

    Real nice write Pam I think it conveys what was intended.
    James

    • pambowen October 20, 2011 / 2:21 pm

      Thanks, James, but do you mean the blog or the song? Either way, I appreciate your stopping by to check out my writing. I’m trying to do something every day. Love, Pam

Leave a Reply

